What is PBI - Public Broadcasters International?

Alongside liberalisation and commercial growth, the overwhelming trend in broadcasting in recent decades has been globalisation. In light of this, since 1990 PSB executives from around the world have met annually to share experiences and ideas about how best to deal with challenges unique to public service broadcasting.

PBI was created on the initiative of, amongst others, PBS, CBC and TV Ontario in North America and was soon joined by many others including BBC, NHK, KBS, SVT, DR, NRK, SABC, RTE, and France Télévisions. Since then more than 80 public service broadcasters, representing all continents, have become members. The PBI conference usually takes place in the autumn and is hosted by a member broadcaster representing different continents on rotation. PSBs from North America, Africa, Asia and Europe have subsequently hosted conferences.

Membership not only supports international PSB but guarantees attendance at the PBI Conference and access to the information PBI gathers (eg. broadcaster profiles). It is open to broadcasters offering programmes and news for all audiences and who are required, by law or charter, to serve general public interests. PBI is not-for-profit.  Membership fees, which contribute towards each annual conference, depend upon the size of the broadcaster. Associate membership is also available. Further details will be provided upon initial registration or you may email PBI2013@pbs.org.

To view the PBI statutes, please click here.

To view details from PBI 2012, hosted by BBC, please click here.

Who takes part?

Senior executives from most of the important public service media groups and union representatives (ABU, EBU, CBA, SABA) meet during the three-day conference. This provides high-level and wide-ranging debate and the development of a network of PSB leaders across the world.

PBI Conferences have previously been held:

2012 London (U.K.) BBC
2011 Singapore MediaCorp
2010 Sintra (Portugal) RTP
2009 Kyoto (Japan) NHK
2008 Arles (France) Francetelevisions
2007 Seoul (Korea) KBS
2006 Maputo (Mozambique) RM, TVM
2005 Oslo (Norway) NRK
2004 Macao (China) TDM
2003 Krakow (Poland) Polish TV
2002 Hong Kong (China) RTHK
2001 Toronto (Canada) TVOntario, CBC
2000 Cape Town (South Africa) SABC
1999 Belfast (UK) BBC
1998 Biarritz (France) Francetelevisions
1997 Washington DC (USA) PBS
1996 Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) RTM
1995 Prague (Czech) CTV
1994 Stockholm (Sweden) SVT
1992 Brussels (Belgium) BRTN
1991 Toronto (Canada) TV Ontario in association with NHK

Thank you to our

Sponsors and Exhibitors 





The Mayflower Renaissance
Washington, DC Hotel
1127 Connecticut Avenue NW
Washington, District Of Columbia 20036 USA